Free Tax Questions Answered by TurboTax!

January 7, 2009

turbotaxlogo

With tax season looming in the not-too-distant future, we should all make plans to start at least thinking about taxes and how to pay for them or how much of a refund we’re going to get. TurboTax (which is the software that I use to file my personal income taxes) is offering one free answer by phone about any tax question ($29.95 value) you might have from one of their tax experts!

Just to to their website (www.freetaxquestion.com) and submit your question by January 31st and they’ll call you back within 24 hours for free (up to 20 minutes)!

4 Responses to “Free Tax Questions Answered by TurboTax!”

  1. Peter Says:

    I work in NY, Live in NJ. I am not double taxed. My W-2 just shows NY in box # 15 and NYC RES in box # 20.
    I filled state return as a resident of NJ AFTER filling state return as non-resident of NY. Turbo Tax says, I get a refund of $2600 aprrox from NY and I have to Pay $2900 to NJ State. When I filled out NJ Return it asked me “Other Jurisdiction Information – New York ” doubled tax income and Tax paid to NY on double tax income. Should I enter zero for both as I am not double tax. But again, after i enter Zero for both, and hit continue, I get “Your credit for tax paid to New York is zero.” Shouldnt I get credit for taxes paid in NY?? Turbo Tax says, I get a refund of $2600 aprrox from NY and I have to Pay $2900 to NJ State. Does this make sense??


  2. I’m not a tax expert so I’m not sure about the answer. But I would ask your question at http://www.freetaxquestion.com. It’s only free until tomorrow, though, so hurry!

  3. Christina Ogle Says:

    My child is 17 and has a child can she claim independent. I was told she would have to file independent to get free schooling for college she only made 3000.00 last year.

  4. gary huff Says:

    What software version of turbo tax will account for the deferral of gain on a home sale.


Leave a Reply

