Just Got My Tax Refunds (and How You Can Track Yours Down)

April 19, 2008

taxrefundpiggy

I just received my federal income tax refund yesterday! I filed on April 5th and my refund came exactly 13 days later. That was pretty quick! I’m glad I e-filed for the first time this year. I think I’m never going to mail in my tax return ever again. The benefits simply outweigh any of the negatives.

Here’s how to check the status of your refund. Just go to the official IRS “Where’s My Refund” page (can also be accessed from the main IRS website) and enter your social security number, filing status, and exact refund amount shown on your tax return. It showed that mine would be direct deposited on April 18th and it showed up exactly on April 18th in both accounts (I split my refund into two accounts). Most states also have a way to check the status of refunds. Check your particular state tax websites for more information.

Now I’m just waiting for the economic stimulus rebate to arrive. It will be direct deposited to the same account that I filed with (only the first one). Check out this post to find out when you can expect yours.

Like the post? Subscribe to this feed!

2 Responses to “Just Got My Tax Refunds (and How You Can Track Yours Down)”

  1. sow Says:

    I used to love getting a tax refund. But, then it dawned on me, it’s a refund. I paid too much. Uncle Sam had access and control of my money. Now, we get tax bills. And we’re quite alright with it. We have it in our control and can utilize it. Read more here:
    http://www.stewardsofwealth.com/?p=10


  2. I completely agree with you there. You’re just getting your money back from the government that you lent at 0% throughout the year. That’s why I try to get as close to zero or owing a little bit so I can use the money throughout the year rather than getting it back later. Paying yourself first (after God) is an important principle to attaining wealth.


Leave a Reply

