Verse of the Day: You Work for God, Not Your Boss!

April 18, 2007

holy-bible.png

23 And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.

Colossians 3:23-24 (NKJV)

I love these verses because everyone has problems at work. I know I do. And everytime my boss gets on my nerves, I just remember this verse and remember that my ultimate boss is God Himself! We should work not for the sake of men (and women) but to God. Our work should be a sacrifice unto God and we should work hard, not for the praise of man but for the praise of God Almighty! Wouldn’t that just change your whole perception of work? Just a thought…

From the Life Application Bible:

Since the Creation, God has given us work to do. If we could regard our work as an act of worship or service to God, such an attitude would take some of the drudgery and boredom out of it. We could work without complaining or resentment if we would treat our job problems as the cost of discipleship.

One Response to “Verse of the Day: You Work for God, Not Your Boss!”

  1. Minimum Wage Says:

    I toil in an inner-city convenience store and have to deal with a never-ending parade of walking social problems. (street people, alcoholics, gangbangers, bums, panhandlers, shoplifters, freebie-seekers, lottery addicts, assorted scam artists, you name it)

    I did not sign up for inner-city street ministry – I tried that some years ago when I volunteered in a homeless ministry and decided it wasn’t for me.

    If I had wanted to do street ministry I would be back there. Why don’t you try working in an inner-city convenience store and write again on the topic?


Leave a Reply

